Blackberry Smoke celebrate 20-year anniversary – new record announced

Photo by Evan Bartleson

The celebrated American rock band Blackberry Smoke from Georgia will release their eagerly awaited new album ‘You Hear Georgia’ through Thirty Tigers on May 28th. On the 10 news songs, the band embodies the rich musical heritage Georgias and honors the people, places and the music of their home state. Through the cooperation with producer Dave Cobb, who’s also from Georgia, the new record is an homage to the deep respect of the band for their roots.

Check out the video and title track:

About ‘You Hear Georgia’ lead singer Charlie Starr says:

“Lyricly the song is about the south being misunderstood. It is obviously a rough and unsteady world and there are many bad humans. But there are also many good ones. It began with the idea, that people might have preconceptions about you, because you have a thick Southern States accent, and then it expanded to the reality that many people find it difficult to get along, thanks to political or religious points of view or simply because you come from a certain part of the country.”

Alongside Blackberry Smoke – Starr (vocals,guitar), Richard Turner (bass, vocals), Brit Turner (drums), Paul Jackson (guitar, vocals) and Brandon Still (keyboards) – there are also the special guests Jamey Johnson (“Lomesome For A Livin'”) and Warren Haynes (“All Rise Again”) as well as background vocals from The Black Bettys on the record.

“You Hear Georgia” is the follow-up to “Find A Light” from 2018 that debuted #3 on the Billboard Top Country Albums charts and #2 on the Billboard Americana/Folk Albums charts.

After the release of “Find A Light” the band released three further projects – the live record and concert movie “Homecoming: Live In Atlanta”, which debuted #1 on the Americana/Folk album-sale charts on Billboard, a six-song-acoustic EP “The Southern Ground Sessions” and “Live From Capricorn Sound Studios” an EP with six cover songs that have a special connection to the historic studios.

Since their formation in 2001 the band toured tirelessly and built up a strong and loyal fanbase. Their music was also on the tv-series “Yellowstone” and they performed on the NBC broadcast “Last Call with Carson Daly”. Aside from their work as musicians Blackberry Smoke got involved in charitys and collected almost 500.000 $ for pediatric cancer research.

“You Hear Georgia” can be pre-ordered here ->


1. Live It Down
2. You Hear Georgia
3. Hey Delilah
4. Ain’t The Same
5. Lonesome For A Livin’ (feat. Jamey Johnson)
6. All Rise Again (feat. Warren Haynes)
7. Old Enough To Know
8. Morningside
9. All Over The Road
10. Old Scarecrow



For more information on the band, check out their social media:







Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.