Ithaca release new single “The Future Says Thank You”

Photo credit: Martyna ‘Gingerdope’ Bannister

Acclaimed UK metallic hardcore troupe Ithaca have streamed their huge new single ‘The Future Says Thank You’, the final glimpse of their long-awaited second album, They Fear Us, due 29th July via Hassle Records.

Ithaca comment:

‘This song is about putting yourself first and moving on from a deeply toxic environment. It’s the most technically difficult song we’ve ever written- the constant changes and relentless pace are designed to make you feel trapped right up until the ending where hope breaks through. There is light at the end of where you find yourself.’

Ithaca are one of the most exciting and vital voices in the UK heavy scene currently. Formed out of a mutual love of metallic hardcore but despair at its lack of ambition, Ithaca exist to challenge everything you thought a band that makes heavy music should look and sound like.

A glitter-covered nailbomb, Ithaca seamlessly blend the brutality of Relapse Records metalcore with blackgaze, 90s industrial metal, 70s prog and even tinges of 80s power pop. Their influences stretch beyond the musical – this album comes with a clear vision and aesthetic: drawing from members’ different ancestral heritage, queer/non-conforming identities and iconic figures in avant-garde, new wave and post-punk culture.

Their upcoming second album They Fear Us is the sound of a band healing from trauma – standing in their own, unapologetic voice. Furious and wildly inventive while also being more coherent and accessible, this album will introduce Ithaca to a wider audience than they’ve ever had before. In the words of the band:

‘those who oppose us; your sins will catch up to you. You will fear us’.

Ithaca’s 2019 lauded debut The Language of Injury was followed by their early 2020 tour with Grammy-nominated indie-rock band Big Thief, starting at London’s Hammersmith Apollo.

Press support from The Guardian, Pitchfork, BBC R1, Metal Hammer, Kerrang!, Rock Sound, Revolver, Decibel, BrooklynVegan, and performances with Bleeding Through, Jamie Lenman, Anaal Nathrakh, The Number Twelve Looks Like You, at Boomtown Fair and ArcTanGent Festival position Ithaca as a great hope in the future of new UK music. Ithaca have also appeared on Ed Gamble’s Spotify podcast ‘Lifers’, Sky News and BBC3.

Ithaca will be touring in the UK and Europe soon. Get your tickets HERE.

Pre-order “They Fear Us” HERE.


1. In The Way
2. The Future Says Thank You
3. They Fear Us
4. Camera Eats First
5. Cremation Party
6. Number Five
7. Fluorescent
8. You Should Have Gone Back
9. Hold, Be Held



For more information on the band, follow their social media:

(Source: Starkult Promotion)


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.