The Wallflowers release first single “Roots And Wings” of their upcoming record

Photo credit: Yasmin Than

The Wallflowers will release their new record “Exit Wounds” on July 9th via New West Records. Last night they introduced the first single “Roots And Wings” at Jimmy Kimmel Live!.

It’s their first record for almost a decade. It was produced by Butch Walker (Taylor Swift, Weezer). “Exit Wounds” was mixed by Chris Dugan (Green Day) and singer-songwriter Shelby Lynn participates on four of the tracks. Though it’s been almost a decade, since we last heard from the band with which Jakob Dylan made a name for himself, he always knew they’ll return. “The Wallflowers is much of my life’s work“, he simply says.

True to it’s title “Exit Wounds” is an ode to people – individual and collective – that have, to say the least, been through a lot. Jakob Dylan says:

“I think everybody – no matter what side of the aisle you’re on – wherever we’re going to next, we’re all taking a lot of exit wounds with us,” Dylan says. “Nobody is the same as they were four years ago. That, to me, is what Exit Wounds signifies. And it’s not meant to be negative at all. It just means that wherever you’re headed, even if it’s to a better place, you leave people and things behind, and you think about those people and those things and you carry them with you. Those are your exit wounds. And right now, we’re all swimming in them.”

Dylan carries on:

“I’m the same songwriter I have always been – I just also wrote at a time, where the world felt like it would break apart. This changes the manner, how you confront even the simplest things when you have panic in your head the whole time. You are afraid. And you also have hope. And it’s all in there.”

Dylan repeatedly worked outside the band, at first with two more acoustic and rooty solo records, “Seeing Things” (2008) and “Women+Country” (2010). Last he was executive producer and main character in the celebrated documentary “Echo In The Canyon” (2018). In the movie, Dylan worked with a number of legendary artists, from Neil Young and Brian Wilson to Beck and Fiona Apple. “Echo In The Canyon” was also the last screen appearance of Tom Petty. The overwhelming successful single “One Headlight” from The Wallflowers was put into the spotlight last year in Judd Apatows movie “The King of Staten Island”. It still is a great hit that leads the billboard charts of “Greatest of All Time Adult Alternative Songs”.



  1. Maybe Your Heart’s Not In It No More
  2. Roots And Wings
  3. I Hear The Ocean (When I Wanna Hear Trains)
  4. The Dive Bar In My Heart
  5. Darlin’ Hold On
  6. Move The River
  7. I’ll Let You Down (But Will Not Give You Up)
  8. Wrong End Of The Spear
  9. Who’s That Man Walking ‘Round My Garden
  10. The Daylight Between Us



“Exit Wounds” can be pre-ordered here.

For more information on The Wallflowers, follow their social media:


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.