California Breed make their debut at the Whisky a GoGo



The bad ass new rock band, California Breed featuring legendary vocalist/bassist Glenn Hughes, drummer extraordinaire Jason Bonham and 23 year old newcomer guitarist/singer/songwriter Andrew Watt have made their debut performance! Last night California Breed played to a sold out crowd at the legendary Whisky a GoGo in Hollywood.

One thing was for sure, the Whisky was the place to be at last night. Our contributor Linda Emord of Eye Shutter 4U told us more about the night, “California Breed is amazing & they just rocked the Whisky a Go Go last nite! Glenn hit notes that could have shattered glass. Jason Bonham, well, it’s Jason! What an amazing performance, each & every song! Newcomer, Andrew Watt? I was completely blown away by his talents! How many guitars does that kid have anyway? What a high powered musician! This is one band you do not want to miss!

Their self titled new album was released a little over a week ago on Monday May 19th through Frontier Records. It was produced by Dave Cobb (Rival Sons, Jamey Johnson, Shooter Jennings) and recorded at his Nashville studio and features equal co-writing credits among the three man power rock group. The band performed the album in its entirety as well as a few select cover songs.  Check out the set list here:

  • The Grey
  • Chemical Rain
  • Sweet Tea
  • Invisible
  • Scars
  • Solo
  • All Falls Down
  • What is and What Should Never Be (Led Zeppelin cover)
  • Strong
  • Spit You Out
  • Breathe
  • Medusa (Trapeze cover)
  • Days They Come
  • The Way
  • Midnight Oil
  • Encore:
  • Immigrant Song (Led Zeppelin cover)
  • Burn (Deep Purple cover)

Take a look at a slide show of photos from Linda Emord of Eye Shutter 4u of their set at the Whisky:


Check out their first single off the album, “Sweet Tea”.  Sweet Tea definitely kicks ass as it brings to life the big ’70s sounds of rock that we miss! Glenn’s vocals just take you on a ride and it has some killer guitar work on it. You can check out the video here:


So keep your eyes open for more tour dates because you don’t want to miss them! They truly know how to write well crafted songs that will have us all rockin out!   Make sure to visit their social media sites so you can stay up to date on their latest news.

~ Marisol

Information & Links:



1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.