A Will Away share new single “I’ve Got A Five”

Photo credit: Brent Campanelli

A Will Away usher in the new year with the new single “I’ve Got A Five”, the latest song from their forthcoming LP Stew, due out next month on February 18th via Rude Records. The song tackles “musings on the breakdown of interpersonal relationships,” explains the band. “As both parties grow ever more frustrated and hurt, someone inevitably starts keeping score. Eventually, the whole thing becomes more about winning some unspoken wager rather than mending what’s broken.” The sweetly somber track builds to a rumble and then resolves again in pattern on the back of math rock-inspired rhythms. Earlier singles have already won attention from the likes of Brooklyn Vegan, The Alternative, and Spotify, and Apple Music’s “All-New Rock” and “New In Rock” playlists respectively.

As with past efforts, Stew continues A Will Away’s practice of including carefully constructed connecting narratives throughout their entire body of releases, using contextual clues and lyrical devices that the band calls “breadcrumbs”. Whether through the use of tone, lyrics, artwork themes, or song ordering; these “breadcrumbs” aim to envelop the listener in a sense of familiarity. In tandem, Stew attempts to assert that the sum of all human interactions and experiences, no matter how trivial, often prove pivotal and interwoven once given enough time to marinate together. Presented as a disjointed stream-of-consciousness with dozens of interconnected points, the record asks the listener to reflect and think critically about who they are, and why they are.

‘Stew’ Tracklisting

1. The Rock
2. Karma
3. Spittin’ Chiclets
4. I’ve Got a Five
5. Parachute
6. Hereditary
7. Re-Up
8. Matchstick
9. Montezuma Blue
10. Speechless
11. Rubbed Out


For more information on the band, follow their social media:






Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.