Grade 2 announce new album and release new single

credit: Ryan Mackfall

British punk band Grade 2 announced their 3rd self-titled studio album “Grade 2”, which will be released February 17th, 2023 via Hellcat Records.

Today they also released the music video for their new single “Under The Streetlight”. The energetic track with a spirited, hopeful melody comes with a music video, which celebrates the strength of the community.

The band comments:

“Even though there are times when life can feel stagnant or things aren’t going to plan, there will always be people there to support you whether it’s mates, a partner, or your family.”

50 years after the genre turned the music world upside-down, UK-based Grade 2 are bringing the raw power of old-school punk to a new generation. United by a love of old-school punk, ska, and oi, childhood friends Sid Ryan (vocals, bass), Jacob Hull (drums) and Jack Chatfield (guitar, vocals) formed the band at fourteen years old, honing their craft playing Clash and Jam covers before refining their own sound. With an album and EP already under their belts, in 2018 the trio signed to Hellcat Records and put out their 2019 record ‘Graveyard Island.’

Melding the near-mythical musical heritage of their native Isle of Wight with the humdrum reality of growing up in a tired seaside town, Grade 2 spit out blistering punk music laced with passion, angst, humor and despair. With a commitment to the cause, lead single “Doing Time” is a thunderous hardcore punk track screaming “Spoon feed me corporate lies; I left that place with a noose to my neck.“.

Frontman Sid Ryan explains,

“Like everyone else, 2020 left us proper fed off.” He continues, “Yet we were able to channel every ounce of that despair into every second of this record.”

What results is a bone-crunching 35-minutes that agitates, intoxicates and liberates in equal measure. The trio is famed for blistering live performances and exceptional musicianship, and they have successfully packaged the essence of their live show in the limited format of an album.

“Grade 2” Tracklist:

1. Judgement Day
2. Fast Pace
3. Under the Streetlight
4. Doesn’t Matter Much Now
5. Midnight Ferry
6. Brassic
7. Gaslight
8. Don’t Stand Alone
9. Streetrat Skallywag
10. Parasite
11. It’s A Mad World, Baby
12. Doing Time
13. Celine
14. See You Around
15. Bottom Shelf


You can pre-order your copy HERE.

Grade 2 will be on tour in the UK and Ireland in March 2023. Get your tickets HERE.


For more information on the band, follow their social media:

(Source: Starkult Promotion)


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.