The Bronx share first single ‘White Shadow’ of their upcoming new record

Credit: Mike Miller

LA based rock band The Bronx announced the release date of their newest record “Bronx VI”. The album is produced by Joe Baressi and will be released August 27th via Cooking Vinyl.

Guitarist Joby Ford on the new album

“I’m excited. From day one we really decided that we wanted to make a record that went in different directions and places. The thing I like a lot about it is that everybody contributed songs. It’s not just Joby J. Ford guitars with Matt singing over it. I loved listening to what other people wrote, and I think those differences and nuances really come through.”

Vocalist Matt Caughthran adds:

“We’ve known each other for a long time, and we’re such good friends and we’re so tight creatively, but we’re still learning stuff about each other, especially when it comes to the process of creating an album. Brad and Ken are just coming out as songwriters and we’re learning to write songs as a group around ideas they bring to the table. This is a really important record for us growth-wise because it kicked down a lot of doors that needed to be kicked down. I feel like now going forward the sky is the limit.”

With ‘White Shadow’ The Bronx deliver a first taste on the upcoming album. Matt describes ‘White Shadows’ as “a song about spiraling. Wild eyed guitars, drums and bass mixed with a high speed chase and a frantic mind unraveling. CLASSIC FUCKING BRONX.”

‘Bronx VI’ was produced by Joe Baressi (Tool, Melvins, Bad Religion) in his ‘House of Compression Studio’ in Pasadena, California. Baressi is someone, with whom the band wanted to work with for many years.

Joby and Matt are more than happy about the collaboration:

“We’d been talking about doing a record together since 2005, and it finally aligned schedule wise. He was just the perfect guy for this record. We went in feeling really good about all the songs, and we just needed someone to make them sound fucking badass and take it to the next level. That was definitely Joe.”

‘Bronx VI’ can now be pre-ordered. The record will be available digital, on CD and in different vinyl-versions. In addition, each of the 11 songs from ‘Bronx VI’ will be available as an individual, limited 7-inch-single with unique artworks from a selected group of artists like Estevan Oriol, DABS MYLA, Craig Stecyk and Tim Armstrong. The 7-inches can not only be bought individually, but also in the form of a monthly subscription, the so called ‘Mirror Press’ series. It’s limited to 400 fans. The winners get a handcrafted wooden box with the logo of the band, a lyrical decoder mirror and a 7-inch slipcase for the singles. The artist for ‘White Shadow’ is the Philadelphia based graphic artist Jeremy Dean.

Mirror Press – wooden box


Bronx VI track list:

  1. White Shadow
  2. Superbloom
  3. Watering The Well
  4. Curb Feelers
  5. Peace Pipe
  6. High Five
  7. Mexican Summer
  8. New Lows
  9. Breaking News
  10. Jack of All Trades
  11. Participation Trophy


The Bronx formed in 2002 and released their self-titled debut-album the following year. In their 19 years as a band they released five records by their original name and three records by their alter ego Mariachi El Bronx. The Bronx are Matt Caughthran (vocals), Joby J. Ford (guitar), Ken Horne (guitar), Brad Magers (bass) and Joey Castillo (drums).

For more information on The Bronx, follow their social media:


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.