Grey Daze release new single “Starting To Fly”

Photo courtesy of Grey Daze

Grey Daze, who recently announced the release of their new album “The Phoenix” on June 17th via Loma Vista Recordings, have released a second song plus video from the new long-player, with which the remaining band members keep their promise to Chester Bennington.

“‘Starting to Fly’ is a new rock anthem about finding yourself and your true potential. It’s about realizing that you can make the world yours. It’s a song about hope. How High Can We Go?”

says drummer/songwriter Sean Dowdell of the Heidi Gadd-directed video, which features Bennington and Dowdell’s chorus – “How High Can We Go” –  skillfully connected with a series of stunning extreme sports footage and breathtaking views, as well as background footage from the recording of “The Phoenix”.

“The Phoenix” serves as a supplement to the 2020 album “Amends”. An album that the band, looking back, sees as a sign of their collective mourning:

“We were sad when we wrote it. Now that we’re a few years apart, it’s very clear what we went through. We were in a different stage of grief. We’ve been through the shock and sadness. Now we’re back to gratitude. So “The Phoenix” is ​​more of a tribute to our friend, his talent, and his music. It captures the fear and energy of Chester one that people fell in love with. It’s a lot more aggressive. If you love Chesters screams, you’re going to love this record.”

For “The Phoenix”, Dowdell, bassist Mace Beyers, and guitarist Christin Davis have invited Bennington-friends Dave Navarro and Richard Patrick, to be part of the new record as well as Chester’s daughters Lily and Lila.

During the first phase of Grey Daze, which lasted from 1994 to 1997, the group recorded and released two albums. These albums formed the basis for “Amends” and “The Phoenix”. Before his death, Bennington publicly announced the return of Grey Daze, which also included a re-recording of the band’s largely undiscovered discography. With Talinda Bennington’s blessing and in collaboration with producer Esjay Jones, the rest of the band members took the recordings: Dowdell, Beyers, and Davis to pay tribute to their late friend and bandmate, but also to show his fans another dimension of the creative singer. “Amends” was released in 2020, and Rolling Stone, Revolver, Billboard, and Kerrang! praised the album. NME summed it up best as “a great modern rock album, lead by one of the best singers of the scene“. At the end of 2020 the trio met again, where Jones re-recorded and revised the remaining ten songs that became “The Phoenix”.

“The Phoenix” can be pre-ordered HERE.

“The Phoenix” Tracklist:
1. Saturation (Strange Love)
2. Starting To Fly
3. Be Your Man
4. Holding You (featuring Dave Navarro)
5. Hole
6. Drag
7. Believe Me (featuring Richard Patrick)
8. Anything, Anything
9. Spin
10. Wake Me



For more information on the band, follow their social media:

(Source: Oktober Promotion)


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.