Calling All Captains announce debut-full-length “Slowly Getting Better”

Bridging the gap between pop-punk/post-hardcore, Calling All Captains is excited to announce their debut full-length album, “Slowly Getting Better”. Additionally, the band has shared their new single and music video “Wasted”. “Slowly Getting Better” is set to be released on October 29th, 2021 via Rude Records and Equal Vision Records and is available for pre-save HERE.

On the new single, the band shares:

“‘Wasted’ is for the ones who are stuck in their vices. It’s tiring being a slave to addiction or substance abuse. Sometimes you play along and act the part, so you don’t lose those closest to you. Do these people have your best interest at heart? Do you only hang out and drink? Will they be there for you at 3:00 am on a Tuesday when you need it? This song reflects on the type of lives that we fall into as a young adult. Your twenties are not supposed to be a giant party. It is a difficult time transitioning between adolescence and adulthood. I wish I could tell my younger self to put down the substances and focus more on life’s essential aspects”.

Originating from small towns outside of Edmonton, Alberta, pop-punk/post-hardcore band Calling All Captains, consisting of Luc Gauthier (vocals), Brad Bremner (guitar/vocals), Connor Dawkins (guitar/vocals), Nick Malychuk (bass), and Tim Wilson (drums), has been manifesting the release of their debut full-length record, “Slowly Getting Better”, for the past few years and are eager to finally share their creations with the world.

“Slowly Getting Better” is a compilation of hardships, persistence, love, and acceptance, and is a thrilling follow up to the 2019 EP, “Nothing Grows Here”. Calling All Captains’ unique sound allows them to dip their toes in both the pop-punk and post-hardcore realms using poppy instrumental elements with a punk-like, aggressive vocal style.

After their initial recording plans were halted in 2020 due to the ongoing pandemic, the band was able to bring in their “Nothing Grows Here” producer, Quinn Cyrankiewicz, and safely record the album at The Audio Department in their hometown. With more demos and songs than they’d ever written before, the band got to work refining and perfecting every note of every song, taking weeks to decide which were good enough to make the cut for their first debut full-length album “Slowly Getting Better”.

Calling All Captains has a fluid dynamic where each member holds an untold responsibility for writing and being an asset to the band. Luc and Connor are the primary songwriters. Brad focuses on the technical elements. Tim concentrates on the beat, and Nick envisions how the songs will perform live and which technical aspects will draw the crowds in. According to Luc, this collaboration “allows the song to be relatable and personable to each member of the band”.

The lyrics on the record reflect the woes of their mid-twenties and issues about drugs and mental health, while simultaneously offering the listener the comfort of someone else who understands the struggle. “Tailspin”, the first single released from the new record, is an energetic and emotional track to kick off this cycle with, and it perfectly highlights the seamless collaboration of all of the members. “We didn’t want any lull points, but we also didn’t want to give too much away about the record”, Brad stated. Connor joins Luc on vocals and takes over a verse to add even more depth to an already technical track.

“Slowly Getting Better” is a soundtrack for the struggling yet hopeful people out there. “Hang in there. We’ll all get better, together”.

Slowly Getting Better’ Tracklisting:
1. Laurel Canyon
2. Collapse
3. Tailspin
4. Steady Pensive
5. Loving Cup
6. Loyalty
7. Undone
8. Broken Glass
9. Wasted
10. Vacant Sentiment
11. Friends and Family



For more information on the band, follow their social media: