Waxflower release brand-new single “Misaligned Love” ft. Sydney Sprague

Sophomore EP "The Sound Of What Went Wrong" out April 29th

There’s no doubt that adored pop-punk rockers Waxflower have been making a huge impact in the lead up to their sophomore EP ‘The Sound Of What Went Wrong’ – out Friday 29th April via Rude Records – with the band today releasing the final taste of what is to come with yearning new single ‘Misaligned Love’.

Featuring the enthralling vocals of American indie pop/rock songstress Sydney Sprague, ‘Misaligned Love’ is about a love connection that can never quite come to fruition, although the stars have certainly aligned for the collaboration between Waxflower and miss Sprague, and we’re so grateful for it!

“Having the wonderful Sydney Sprague feature on this track was an incredible honour & she really helped to elevate ‘Misaligned Love’ to a place that we couldn’t, without her”, explains drummer Daniel Seymour. “We’ve been huge fans of hers for a couple of years now, so when the opportunity arose with ‘Misaligned Love’, we reached out to her to feature and thankfully she agreed! She’s just finished touring with Jimmy Eat World & Dashboard Confessional, so no doubt she’ll be over in Australia soon & we can finally celebrate this track together, in person”.

Bristling with a punk-infused longing that encourages the release of emotional turmoil through intense instrumental breakdowns and cathartic vocal deliveries, ‘Misaligned Love’ brings the frustration of missed opportunities to life, as lead vocalist Tristan Higginson explains:

“‘Misaligned Love’ is about timelines that never merged. Two people having feelings for each other at different times in their life that never connected. It’s about coming to terms that in a different timeline things could have been different, and having to mourn the loss of what you never actually had”.

The new track follows a recent trio of singles in ‘The Drama Scene’, Soak’, and ‘Ring’ which are signaling a bright new era for Waxflower as they delve deeper into nostalgic pop-rock elements from a time where Myspace was king, combined with modern, relatable songwriting and pockets of tantalizing electro-pop.

Never ones to shy away from candid, heart-on-sleeve lyricism, Waxflower’s forthcoming EP ‘The Sound Of What Went Wrong’ EP is what Higginson describes as

“five anthems for the over-thinker” and “the EP a brain writes at 2 AM when it can’t sleep – picking apart every awkward moment and wrong turn, all while wondering what could have been”.

“The last few years have given us more time in our heads than we may have liked. Self-doubt, self-hatred, missed connections, crutches, medication. All the fun stuff is here, wrapped up in songs that capture both the poppiest and heaviest sides of Waxflower to date. I hope people can find something to relate to throughout its runtime.”

Drummer Daniel Seymour explains the EP was recorded over two weeks in Sydney with producer and frequent collaborator Stevie Knight (Stand Atlantic / Yours Truly / Between You & Me).

“Those two weeks were spent crafting and perfecting these songs – to become the most accurate representation of who we are as people, musicians, and what we hope Waxflower reflects. I feel this release is just the next step in our progression, a movement forward in the constant search to find ‘our sound’”.

The band is also on the final legs of their extensive east coast tour alongside Trophy Eyes, concluding on April 24th at the Oxford Art Factory in Sydney.

Previous single ‘The Drama Scene’ premiered on triple j’s Short.Fast.Loud program and was also supported by NME, Sounds of Oz, Rocksound, The Music, and more. The track has also been added to Amazon Music’s Breakthrough Alternative and Fresh Rock playlists as well as Spotify’s Local Noise.

Ring’ was supported domestically by the likes of Wall of Sound, The Music, The AU Review, LiveWire AU, Good Call Live, Ticketmaster, Sounds of Oz, and more, amongst international coverage from Upset, Bring The Noise, and Punktastic to name a few. The single has seen Waxflower move from strength to strength on streaming platforms, with additions to Apple Music’s The New Rock and New In Rock playlists, and Amazon Music’s Punk Scene and Fresh Rock.

Earlier, ‘Soak’, which has clocked over 100k streams, followed on from the band’s heart-on-sleeve debut EP ‘We Might Be Alright’ (2021). The track caught the attention of both domestic and international media, receiving support from the likes of Wall of Sound, Hysteria, Rock Sound, CLASH, Punktastic, DSCVRD, and more, alongside an addition to triple j Unearthed rotation. ‘Soak’ was also hailed as triple j Unearthed’s ‘Track of the Day’ on release, and landed Waxflower’s first ever BBC Radio 1 spin on Daniel P Carter’s Rock Show alongside airplay on triple j’s Short.Fast.Loud program.

Plenty of playlist support followed suit, with Spotify adding the track to Rock Out, The Punk List, and major playlist Pop Punk’s Not Dead, alongside the platform’s viral alternative playlist the locker. ‘Soak’ has also dominated Amazon Music’s alternative playlists, with additions to Punk Scene, Fresh Rock, and Breakthrough Alternative.

Pre-save/pre-order “The Sound Of What Went Wrong” HERE.



1. Ring
2. Soak
3. The Drama Scene
4. Two Thumbs
5. Misaligned Love




For more information on the band, follow their social media:





(Source: KINDA)


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.