SPOTLIGHT BAND: Check out the new video from Princess Goes

Princess Goes is the charismatic trio from New York City led by vocalist, lyricist, musician and actor Michael C. Hall (Dexter, Six Feet Under, Lazarus) alongside keyboardist Matt Katz-Bohen (Blondie, Cyndi Lauper) and drummer Peter Yanowitz (The Wallflowers, Morningwood). The band is set to release their sophomore full length album, Come of Age on October 6th via the SO In De Goot label. 

Ahead of the release, they have just released their second track, BLUR which is accompanied by a cinematic haunting video with artful visuals directed by the award-winning Tim Richardson (Sir Elton John, Billie Eilish), the official video finds Michael C. Hall stuck in a black hole as he croons these haunting lyrics At best I’m but a blur, if you remember me at all. Fuzzy memories playing on your basement VCR. Found the final payphone, dropped my change and made the call. Picked up – whispered last room on the left. End of the hall.”

Matt Katz-Bohen comments,

“‘BLUR’ opens with a classic Juno-106 synth drone, evoking the early 80’s, flirting with the finality of its own fruition as layers of more synth, bass guitar and drums reveal themselves. Michael’s poignant, aching lyrics and melody go from soft to epic, culminating in an MGMT/Human League chorus of loving synth transcendence: Baby I’m full grown now.” 

Check out the video here:

About the album.

‘Come Of Age’ is the trio’s most accessible, yet innovative, work to date, replete with songs that traverse a thrilling and often surprising sonic and lyrical landscape. There’s a clear cohesiveness to the 12 songs on the album (full tracklisting can be found below) that manage to be all at once catchy and intoxicating, soundtrack-y musicscapes for the ages, synth-heavy but multi-faceted. The musical growth on ‘Come Of Age’ was organic, and though onstage and on paper they are a keyboards-drums-vocals band, this album is rife with guitar and bass, instruments that play a bigger role than on previous recordings. The band’s evolution is ongoing and often unearthly, spacy and provocative in the vein of Bowie’s ‘Blackstar’ (David Bowie personally cast Hall to play the lead role of Thomas Newton in his final stage project – ‘Lazarus’ on Broadway).


The musical evolution on Come of Age was organic. We really fully embraced not limiting ourselves, says Yanowitz, and we did embrace the guitar heavily–electric and acoustic–and a lot of bass.We like the fact that a lot of the times you can’t tell instrumentally what’s what,” furthers Katz-Bohen. “People say ‘that sounds like a guitar,’ but it’s actually a keyboard playing through a guitar amp. There’s always that ‘what makes that sound? What is that thing?’ The songs manage to be at once catchy and intoxicating, soundtrack-y musicscapes for the ages, synth- heavy but multi-faceted.

Come Of Age – TRACKLISTING:01. Offering02. Let It Go03. Blur04. Come Of Age05. Shimmer06. Jetpack07. Glasswing08. Take Me Home09. Beija10. Saving Grace11. Whatever Whispers12. Floating


The band have also announced a UK Headline Tour which kicks off on 26 September in Manchester.

 Tour Dates:

  • SEP 20 WED – Elsewhere @ 7:00pm – Brooklyn, NY
  • SEP 26 TUE – Manchester Academy @ 7:00pm – Manchester, United Kingdom
  • SEP 27 WED – The Globe @ 7:00pm – Cardiff, United Kingdom
  • SEP 28 THU – O2 Institute @ 7:00pm – Birmingham, United Kingdom
  • SEP 29 FRI – The Waterfront @ 7:00pm – Norwich, United Kingdom
  • OCT 1 SUN – Badaboum @ 7:00pm – Paris, France
  • OCT 2 MON – Tivoli @ 7:00pm – Utrecht, Netherlands
  • OCT 4 WED – Frannz Club @ 7:00pm – Berlin, Germany
  • OCT 5 THU – JunkYard @ 7:00pm – Dortmund, Germany
  • OCT 6 FRI – Jeugdhuis EFFORT @ 7:00pm – Genk, Belgium
  • OCT 8 SUN – EartH (Evolutionary Arts Hackney) @ 7:00pm – London, United Kingdom

Make sure to visit the social media sites and stay up to date on the latest news.

Information & Links:



Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.